What friends are for.

Friends tell friends about amazing DIY websites. You don’t horde it all for yourself. A dear friend and trusty commenter, Kara, did just that. She told me about Ana White. SERIOUSLY the best place to find online plans and designs for all sorts of furniture. It’s eye candy for sure. Her hubby made her a cute console table…and I knew I had to get my hands on something similar.

I retired our little, semi-adequate chest coffee table, leaving a vast nothingness in its wake. All this in hopes that my husband would get so annoyed with the lack of a coffee table that he’d make one. Well months went by where we used a chair as a coffee table. And I realized that I was married to a man who picks up dirty spoons and blows on them to make them clean and would never wash a towel or a single sock if I weren’t around. If it functions in any way, shape, or form…it’s adequate. So I printed out the plans for this table, placed them on his pillow, and wrote on the mirror with a dry-ease marker, “Get lumber at Lowes today.” Well, I had him at “lumber”.

IMG_5589

IMG_5954He skipped a few steps (an “X” at the end and some hardware on the corners) that I’ll advocate for later. For now, I’ll put my feet up and enjoy the beautiful table he created for us.

IMG_5945 IMG_5941 IMG_5949It’s a weekend project and was relatively inexpensive ($50). Boo yeah! Can’t beat it! If you know what’s good for you, you’ll check out ana-white.com. And if you’re a good friend, you’ll pass on the link.

9 thoughts on “What friends are for.

  1. Yay!! And that’s the same plan as ours I think just done in different dimensions. Turned out really good! Aren’t husbands the best?

  2. I showed Blake and he got all sad face and said it looks better than his, then he said bring it on Matt! Haha I had to remind him how much I LOVE my table.

    • It was Rustoleum – I think walnut! Three coats of stain – rubbed on. And three coats of satin poly – the first coat brushed on the and other two rubbed on. Weird I know, but there is a method to our madness!

Leave a comment