Pinterest Fail – cake from a circus fun house

First off, doesn’t this look awesome from the top?

IMG_8842

Yeah…but it was a fail of epic proportions. What was supposed to be a surprise cake for my hubby…well it was still a surprise, but one that involved him asking, “Is…uummm…is that part falling off?”

Here’s the inspiration…and the homemade outcome.

Desktop6Bahahaa. I can only laugh at myself for thinking I could make it look like the pictures. After all, I have never iced a cake in my life. Well I take that back. I used to decorate cakes a bit when I worked for Baskin Robbins back in my teen years. But that was all pre-made icing and was a totally different consistency since you were working with frozen products.

One of my first mistakes was when I added 3/4 teaspoons of almond extract when it should have been 1/8 teaspoon. Novice mistake. Then I added too much water to the icing. Stupid. It started sagging terribly between the layers of cake. I tried to let it dry and then re-spread it…but no.

IMG_8825IMG_8828Yeah looks like a topsy-turvy cake mistake. So instead I tried adding a little bit of texture to the sides. IMG_8830

WHATEVER! I give up. I quickly added the white borders and called it good. No wait…I called it terrible but I was done. I also made an entire batch of butter cream frosting that turned out like cottage cheese. I had NO idea you had to use real butter. Ugh. Wasted a pound of “butter” there. But you know what dammit…it tasted freakishly good.

IMG_8852Maybe next time I can achieve this…cause it’s just so beautiful.

SprinkleBakes cherry vanilla cake 6For those who are interested, I used a chocolate chiffon cake recipe that’s my fav. You can find it here. The original recipe is here, and the actual frosting recipe I ended up using is here.

Leave a Reply

