valentines happy mail – 13 ounces or less

I’ve been so inspired by a new trend called “13 ounces or less“. It’s simply a reminder that you can mail just about anything that weighs 13 ounces or less. Stick stamps and an address on anything…and brighten someones day. I decided to brighten the day of three of my favorite people in the world. Giana, Samuel and Owen. My niece and two nephews. I’ve got another niece Sayla, and while she is one of my top favorite people, she is also 2 month old. Soooo I don’t think she’d appreciate happy mail like the others.

First I knew right away that valentine’s day was going to be my opportunity to mail some sweet goodness. Secondly, I chose to use some small Odwalla bottles to hold all the goodies. A pleasant decision since it required me to drink tons of it. So I drank those up and washed them out.

Next I filled them with all sorts of goodies from the dollar tree. Stickers, mini flashlights, candy hearts, erasers, chap stick, candy necklaces, etc. I even crammed some toy cars and other weird little things in there like hair clips and mini locks with a key. photo (12)

One thing I read over and over again when reading about sending “happy mail”, was to make sure the address and return address were clear. After getting all the necessary information on them I decorated them with washi-tap and fun colored sharpies, sealing the whole thing with mailing tape to prevent the labels from smearing or falling off.

IMG_8623

I slapped stamps onto them, and viola!!!
photo 1

Who wouldn’t love getting this in the mail!?

(You can take your item into the post office, or you can calculate it’s price if you know the weight online here. You should select the package option and enter the ounces. Then check the “first class mail and other options” sections – the first class parcel mail will be your price)

By the way…look at the fun stamps they are selling right now at the post office! How awesome are those for little tykes?!

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (2)

Happy mailing!

3 thoughts on “valentines happy mail – 13 ounces or less

Leave a Reply

