simple homemade berry ice cream

Setting out for a long walk this afternoon, I knew it was going to be cold. But the sun rays were beaming through the windows and I figured, “Meh…how bad can it be?”. Answer: real bad. The wind caused tears to stream down my face and they subsequently froze to my cheeks (which is actually pretty uncomfortable when you have frozen stubby fingers trying to wipe them off), my ears started stinging and every time I inhaled my lungs burned. To top it all off I think I got a sunburn. Ugh. This is not Portland weather. The sun is nice…but it’s just a damn tease. There’s a reason I live closer to this ocean and not the Atlantic…I like having moisture content in my winter-air.

IMG_8135

Well anyway when I got home…I ate ice cream. I knnnooowww…seems weird. But my affinity for ice cream runs deeper than Crater Lake. It doesn’t matter what the temperature is outside. And lucky for me, I was finally able to save for the Kitchenaid ice cream maker I’ve been wanting since what feels like the beginning of time. I’ve made about five different kinds of ice cream, but so far my favorite is a variation of a simple mix and freeze recipe. I like the custard type ice creams that require eggs and cooking it all up before hand, but honestly that tasted too…store bought. It’s rich and creamy but didn’t remind me of homemade ice cream. It’s hard to explain. This strawberry recipe has been my favorite by far and it was fun to pull August-picked berries out of the freezer to use up.

IMG_8132 IMG_8133 IMG_8137

Maybe I’ll get to enjoy some more of this when it snows this weekend, right meteorologists!!??

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 cup half and half

2 cups frozen strawberries (or other berry perhaps?)

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

Puree berries in a blender or frozen food processor. Combine all ingredients; stir until the sugar is dissolved. Freeze in an ice cream freezer according to it’s instructions. Should make about 1-1 1/2 quarts.

The vanilla variation: skip the strawberries and increase the half and half to 2 cups total.

Leave a Reply

