Cozy Flowers

Trust me. I know about the vintage sheet craze. I’ve been suckered in a time or two. I do love it. I’ve got this weird IKEA/cottage/1950’s/shabbychic/pop/antique style going on. I’m not sure what to do with all that except that I’ve found elements all those styles have in common and I just go with it. If you’re confident about it, then who gives a sheet?! (Yes that was a pun). Live with what you love and keep it simple.

I was at a thrift store (surprise) and stumbled upon several beautifully colored vintage-looking sheets for 2 bucks a pop. I got to thinking about all the wonderful things I could make. Bags, pillows, shirts, quilts, aprons, hand towels, scarves, pj pants, pot holders….the list is practically endless.

Then I had a crazy thought, “What if I just use these as…sheets?”

So I did.

IMG_6117IMG_6111 IMG_6103 IMG_6437 IMG_6451

IMG_6430Yeah, that’s right. There’s not a single picture of my bed actually made. The only time it’s made is when I change the sheets and a couple of days after that. And with cute sheets like this it actually looks better messy.

Perhaps to no ones surprise, I still did a little sewing. I took two king sheets, cut them down to size and, sewing right sides together with a 2 foot opening at the end, made a double-sided duvet cover. You just can’t get enough mismatched little flowers if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

