Cleaning your oven…with magic! (AKA baking soda and dryer sheets)

I don’t think I’ve ever posted about cleaning anything. The exception being this Pinterest Fail. Really, I’m not that good at cleaning and I don’t keep things clean so why would you want to hear from me about it? Recently I’ve been trying to be more “responsible” and annoying stuff like that. It seems to me, taking care of our things (AKA cleaning them) is responsible because, A. they last longer, which prevents us from buying more crap, B. a clean home-environment is a healthier and more pleasant place to exist and C. you’re allowing your space to be welcoming and open to others. Not that you can’t have people over when your place is trashy, but really, who wants someone to come into their home and be distracted by nastiness? I’m not talking immaculate level cleaning here folks. I’m talking basic upkeep. I SUCK at it. So I have to talk myself into all these reasons why it’s good for me to put down Candy Crush and/or turn off my sewing machine to sweep, wash the comforter or clean the oven.

So in my quest to clean the oven, which I was dreading, I went to the store and was a little worried about the products I saw there. They were either too chemically, too expensive or too something. I don’t know what that last one is, but I like listing in thirds.

Google. ALWAYS the solution. I googled, “Easy and safe way to clean your oven”. And BAM! I stumbled upon two incredibly cheap ($3 for me) and sorta easy way to clean your oven. This may not be news to some of you cleaning veterans out there, but baking soda is your best friend. Since this discovery yesterday I have already used it to clean out my kitchen drains and treat a mosquito bite. Marissa, at FinelyGround.net, shows you how this miracle product can clean ovens no problem.

At first I thought to myself, there is no way that just baking soda and water will clean my oven. NO WAY. Well, it’s a freaking Christmas miracle, cause it totally works. Still takes some elbow grease, but that comes with the task. You basically spritz your oven with water, sprinkle baking soda and go to town with a hard bristle brush. Wipe clean, and keep hitting the worst areas until it meets your standards. I went out and bought a new box of baking soda and used almost the whole thing. I found that a baking soda paste worked really well. I used a pan scraper to easily scrape off the worst of it, after baking soda had sat on it for a while. (Some let baking soda sit overnight…I don’t have that type of patience).

My before pictures turned out blurry somehow, but I promise you there was some pretty nasty, pretty burnt-on grossness. It was hard to see through the window. Here is an after shot:

IMG_5300Now before you dive into oven cleaning, I found this other seriously amazing trick to cleaning your oven racks. Now you might be thinking, “Who cares about clean oven racks?”. Before I had a clean oven I can tell you that I sure didn’t. After you have a clean oven the dirty racks just make it look like you’ve never cleaned…which is discouraging…which for me is bad cleaning mojo. If I feel like all the work I did was for naught, I’ll just stop and not clean again until 2015. This method of cleaning felt like an experiment, making the whole process, well fun. Jill, over at OnegoodthingbyJilee.com, explains that there are anti-static agents in dryer sheets that weaken the bond between the food and the pan(s) while the fabric softening agents soften the baked-on food. So she filled her tub with hot water, some dish soap for good measure (1/4 cup), 6 dryer sheets (I did a few more), and let them soak for 18 hours. I only let mine soak for about 4 hours. Best would be overnight I assume.

034You can kinda see the baked on grossness here. My jaw dropped when I checked on these bad-boys a few hours later. I used a dryer sheet to scrub away at the gunk…it just floated off. So much to my surprise that I hollered, “Matt! Get in here and look at this!”.

Now, there were still parts that didn’t come off easily, but I can tell if I took my pan scraper to ’em they would come off no problem, or if I let it all soak longer. I stopped with about 75% gunk removed. Which pleased me and looks clean in my oven.

SO BOOYEAH! Look at me, being all adult and taking care of things. Got any tricks I should know about?

11 thoughts on “Cleaning your oven…with magic! (AKA baking soda and dryer sheets)

  1. I’m totally going to try these things! When cleaning the oven in one of mine and Jenna’s apartments I got some oven cleaner from Home Depot to do the job. I did exactly as the directions said and it was fine for about 3 minutes then all the sudden the room was filled with the with an invisible gas (maybe not that extreme). It hurt to breathe and I couldn’t open my eyes. I had to go stand outside for a while. Needless to say, there are a couple chemicals which I don’t think are that good for a person in the oven cleaners.

    • I know! It’s so terribly nasty. This literally has no smell. It’s kinda weird, you’d expect something…but since baking soda deodorizes….nothing. If you do it, tell me how it turns out!

      • I did the dryer sheet trick on the metal trays under the burners on the stove. I am far less patient than even you so I only let them soak 2 or 3 hours but way more came off than would have with just soap and water!

  2. I’m yet to have a go at doing this myself. I’ve been using oven cleaning medway, a professional company, to do my cooker. The results have been excellent, so if you’re in the area I’d be happy to recommend them, but for a while I have thought about trying my hand at it myself. I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks again :)

  3. That looks like a brand new oven. It’s been a almost 2 years since I had my oven cleaned by oven cleaning sheffield. It’s ready to be done again but, I lost my job a few weeks ago and cannot really afford to have it done by there oven cleaning service right now… It’s my oven racks more than anything that really need doing again, i am going to give your guide a go tomorrow morning!

  4. Pingback: [GPGT] Homemade Siew yok :D - Page 2 - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

  5. Pingback: Fact or Whacked: Baking Soda Oven Cleaner | Amanda Renee

  6. You asked for any ideas – i have been married 30 years & always done my washing & ironing like my mother & my grandmother. When i get dressed i have always had my clothes washed, ironed & put away but i have had huge problem with letting the ironing climb the walls. My life has changed! Once the clothes have been washed i take the clothes that need to be ironed & IRON THEM WET then hang them up to dry on the line or a coat hanger (flocked hangers are the best invention as nothing falls off them). Set your iron to NO STEAM. It is also much quicker to iron them this way & you get a professional finish compared to ironing the clothes when dry. I told my friend this tip & she said it didn’t work? I found out she had NOT put them through the spin cycle!! i have been doing this for a few years now & have not had an ironing basket since. Also if you do not have a clothes brush handy to remove lint from clothes when ironing just wet your hand & use your hand as a clothes brush-it really works. Always iron clothes with printed matter inside out as you will cause the print to crack & peel off. Happy to answer any questions:)

Leave a Reply

