Skinny Egg Salad Wrap

Thank you all for the great shop ideas!! I’ve got a few more clutches and makeup bags in the shop now, but the next thing I’m going to be working on is over-the-shoulder bags. People freaking love those! I haven’t found the right pattern/inspiration yet and I really feel like creating my own design so it might take a few days. But rest assured…it’s coming.

In the meantime, I feel like mentioning…I’ve lost 15 pounds. Woo hoo! I noticed I’d gained weight pretty steadily this last year…and I blame it on blogging. I mean really. I cook up these great recipes to post and then eat it all. I knew the time had come to shed some poundage when my favorite pair of pants literally split in half. Thank GOD it happened while I was at home. You may or may not have noticed that the recipes I’ve been sharing lately are  a little healthier. If you see a recipe posted that doesn’t seem like a “diet” recipe, that’s because: A. It’s a sign of weakness on my part, or B. I had a mini-portion of it. Anyway I’m still working on the shedding and if anyone is interested I can post some things that have been helpful for me during the process.

Here for you now is a terrific egg salad recipe I stumbled upon the other day. It’s a little healthier for you because it doesn’t have mayonnaise. Also, you can do what I did and use the lettuce as the wrap. Or do what my husband did, take the lettuce wrap and throw a tortilla around it. Either way, seriously delicious.

IMG_3358

IMG_3367 IMG_3360 IMG_3369 IMG_3371 IMG_3378 IMG_3381

Skinny Egg Salad Wraps – Makes 3-4 wraps

  • 1 medium avocado, sliced
  • 4 hard boiled egg yolks
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 4 hard boiled egg whites, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chives, finely chopped
  • lettuce
  • tortilla or lettuce for wrap

In a medium bowl, mash the avocado. Add the egg yolks and mash together.

Add the salt, pepper and red wine vinegar and blend together.

Stir in the egg whites and the chives.

Lay a piece of lettuce on the wrap. Spoon the avocado egg salad into the wrap. Roll it up and serve with sliced tomatoes. So good!

If you want to take it a step further, leave the tortilla out and roll up in a lettuce wrap!

IMG_3376

One thought on “Skinny Egg Salad Wrap

  1. Same here, I definitely gained weight within my first year of blogging because I got so obsessed with baking! I’ve been making the effort to eat healthier over the last six weeks or so and I can feel the difference. I’m planning on posting some tips when I’ve reached my goal weight so I’d love to hear yours! :-)

Leave a Reply

