Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix

Let me introduce you to the best soup mix ever created (out of the three that I’ve tried). Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix. This deliciously healthy and filling soup mix is to…die…for. f 025First off, can I give you a hint? I recently went into a Big Lots, next door to a movie theater, where I planned on buying candy to sneak in. I saw a huge Bob’s Red Mill display. They were selling all sorts of Bob’s Red Mill products for literally half the price of other places. So for those of you who have a Big Lots in the area and are cheap like me (AKA on a tight budget), go there.

You can mix a cup of this stuff with water/broth for a simple soup, or you can go the more “complex” route, which involves a carrot, celery stick and onion (They suggest adding milk, but I skipped that).

f 003 f 007 f 012 f 016 f 022I was SO excited to get to use my immersion blender (my hubby gave it to me for Christmas). If you don’t have one, no worries. You can transfer your soup to a blender/food processor and blend away until you get your desired texture.

Creamed Vegi Soup – Bob’s Red Mill

3 cups Water (Or broth…I used veg broth)

1 cup Vegi Soup Mix

1-2 Carrots, peeled & chopped

1-2 Stalks celery, chopped

1 yellow onion

1 cup milk (I didn’t add this…it was perfectly fine without!)

Simmer soup mix and water/broth for 30 minutes. Add cut-up carrots, celery and onion. Continue cooking for 30 minutes or until ingredients are soft. Cool soup enough to blend (or use immersion blender right away). Place soup in blender, and blend until smooth. Add 1 cup Milk (rice, soy, etc.) to blended soup.Season to taste and warm soup to serving temperature- but do not boil.
And tell me how good you think it is.
One thought on “Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix

  1. Oooh, I will have to try! Things you should know:

    A. The bean soup mix is excellent.
    2. But the soup seasoning mix is what makes it.
    iii. If you “like” Bob on Facebook (and who wouldn’t?!), “Bob” shares the daily lunch specials. Which sound *amazing* and healthy and the best thing ever.
    IV. But if you have a child in kindergarten and have to be at home every day at lunchtime for bus dropoff, well, the lunch specials are a bit torturous…

Leave a Reply

