IKEA hell.

I had a crazy dream last night. For those of you who have already read this on Facebook, I won’t be offended if you skip ahead, but I added some more detail here you might enjoy. In the dream, I was trapped in IKEA, for years. Of course that doesn’t seem unreasonable to anyone who has actually been to IKEA. I was wandering the center aisle. Walking and shopping, walking and shopping. I suddenly realized, “Whoa, I’ve been here a long time, the real world is out there!” This was all eerily similar to The Matrix. Like magic, I knew that there were cameras everywhere and it was some crazy-secret social experiment. I started trying to walk to the exit faster and faster. The rooms never ended! I tried taking shortcuts and soon chaos ensued.

It became obvious the employees would fight you if you tried to escape. After lots of flinging pans and pillows at people wearing yellow and blue shirts, I escaped into an empty white hallway where a rogue employee shouted, “Haley!! Here!!” She pointed me towards an elevator and she hit the elevator button twice. I rode it upwards for a long time. When the doors opened I was outside looking down onto a huge metal platform. I jumped out. When I looked back I saw I had jumped from a huge submarine. I watched the whole submarine dive back into the water, though it was obvious it was contained in the huge metal structure I was standing on. Anyway I guess I was “safe” because a great sense of relief came over me..

Phew! I wish I could say it meant anything to me…but I honestly I can’t think of what that would be. I like IKEA. This is the second dream I’ve had in the past month where I am escaping some “bad” entity. I try to escape, a fight of sorts ensues and there is always someone helping me along. Weird.

Anyway, for something NOT IKEA related.

I snagged this cool embroidered picture for $6. It seems pretty obvious that this is something you might still be able to find in a store, like Target (or IKEA?? Gasp!) But I thought it looked unique enough to bring home. 009 010 012 013Any interpretations of my dream? Or perhaps a recent and amazing thrift store purchase?

2 thoughts on “IKEA hell.

Leave a Reply

