Pyrex Update

It’s been awhile since I posted about my obsessive collecting of vintage Pyrex. That’s probably because my collection’s growth slowed substantially when I started putting most “extra” money I had into my Etsy shop.

But alas, with Christmas time, a time in which people like to give people things, also came my birthday. Another time in which people like to give people things. And I got some pretty cool things.

In no order particular, here are some new Pyrex items I’ve recently acquired:

Snowflake Blue & Spring Blossom butter dish – 1970s. These butter dishes are SO cute. Any Pyrex collector can tell you it’s mandatory that you have a butter dish. Though the jewel in the rough is finding a butter dish in its original box. (Thanks Marsha for the Snowflake Blue!)

051 052

Holly Days Mug – 1985. Gasp! When I pulled these beauties out of the bag I almost had a heart attack. I have been looking for Pyrex holiday mugs everywhere! I have yet to even see any…ever. At this moment in time they are the gem of my lot. Even better still they were made the year I was born, making for a very fitting birthday gift. (Thanks Tyler and Julie!!)

035 039

Spring Blossom Summer Impressions Gravy Boat – 1970 – I’m a little obsessed with this gravy boat right now. Firstly, I’ve never seen one, ever. Secondly, it’s in perfect condition. And thirdly, it’s the most awkward thing I’ve ever seen, haha! It’s clunky and the shape is odd. If you were to hold it, you’d notice right off that it doesn’t seem quite right…like it’s not symmetrical or something. It’s for all those reasons that I LOVE this thing. (Thanks Mom!)046 047

Snowflake carafe – 1970s. I’ve got a few Pyrex glass pitchers, but I’d been on the look out for Pyrex coffee pots. Viola! I stumbled upon this one. It’s in great shape. Most glass carafes show some major sign of wear, burns and scratches. But not this one! I can’t use it on the stove until I get a hot plate to distribute the heat. Otherwise it’ll shatter…and I’ll be unhappy.

040 042Yellow square casserole dish with lid – ??. I’ve been trying to track down info on this casserole dish. It’s so fantastic! It’s got a great square shape with matching lid. The coloring is so perfect, you’d think it’d been made yesterday. (Thank Mom!)055 056When trying to find the exact date of the dish, I did come across this old advertisement for it:Pyrex AdvertismentThat’s definitely a pre-70s advertisement, wouldn’t you say? But who knows…

I’m going to compile a “dream list” of the Pyrex patterns and models that I’m still looking for. I get emails and texts from people who spot pieces and wonder if it’s something I’d want…this way everyone can print off my dream list, keep it on their person at all times, and go thrifting for me. Right?

3 thoughts on “Pyrex Update

  1. I would totally print it out :) In other news, your onesie is printed and we need to figure out a time to get it to you so I can bring it to you, as well as some cookies! What’s your favorite type?

  2. that advertisement looks like something from my grandparent’s calendar from 1957. They owned a general store in Kansas and they would get this calendar every year with some awesome ads like the perfect recipes for women to cook for husbands and irons and sun block! haha

Leave a Reply

