Book Bags for the Kiddos.

When you’re a kid, nothing beats not having to share having your very own something. Nothing makes it yours better than plastering your name right on it. So this Christmas, I made my nephew and niece their very own book bags. Thanks to my cousin Penny who sent me this inspiration pic:

Library Tote ExampleThis is what I came up with:

Book Bag Book bagI knew I wanted to make my own tote so I could add some pizzazz. I find that knowing how to make a solid, standard tote bag is a skill that always comes in handy. So I appreciate the practice. Adding a liner allowed me to lazily pay attention to only the outside prettiness of the bag. The liner covers the interior part that looks disastrous  With reinforced handles (made from strapping), this bag should be able to withstand haul after haul of library books and/or other kiddo necessities.

While I don’t have a step-by-step photo tutorial for you, as I was crazily finishing these in the middle of the night, the eve of Christmas eve, I can give you some details that might help if you’d like to make your own.

I started with measurements of 17 1/2″ (h) x 16 1/2″ (w). I folded the top down two inches so ending measurements were probably something like 15 1/4″ x 16″. I simply hand cut out flannel letters and sewed them in place. This took forever and I’m sure had I left myself more time, I could have found a less time consuming method.

book bag book bag Book bag Book BagThey were a success. Especially since hidden inside was a book to add to their sprawling collections. “Skippy John Jones” for Giana and “The Secret Identity of Awesome Man” for Samuel. It was great watching these two open presents. They were delighted in each one and willingly gave out lots of thank you hugs…

…of which I gladly accepted.

Owen, Samuel and Giana

3 thoughts on “Book Bags for the Kiddos.

    • Yes! Any ideas on how to do the lettering in a more efficient way? I could have searched for a template to make it easier, but I didn’t leave myself much time to explore.

      • Iron on interfacing? I am sure I used that and you just stick them on. I made a hot water bottle cover once for my son and I am certain that’s what I did. I got the letter straight off the computer!

Leave a Reply

