O Christmas Tree

It feels a little funny doing the whole Christmas tree thing when it’s just Matt and I. We don’t think there is a fat jolly man bringing us presents, nor do we load the bottom up with gifts to ourselves or others. And It’s a lot of work for something that few other people will see. But, we both feel that we must do it, for some inarticulate reason. Neither of us have strong feelings about it…it’s just something you do. So we did it. I do like the lights. And the smell.

We went U-Picking. Which was a bit overwhelming for an indecisive perfectionist like me.

037049But, against all odds we found one. Haley approved.

040042044Unbeknownst to me, I had an evening of decorating the tree alone ahead of me. My hubby informed me, a bit late, that he had grad school work to do. Luckily my lovely friend Lisby came by unannounced and was roped into tree decorating duty. I don’t think she minded.

053054-001055-001054It was like being in college (or maybe even high school) again. Matt actually had to come out and turn our Christmas music down so he could focus on his work. We just laughed and moaned “Poor Matt”. So that made it all worth it to me. As far as I’m concerned the setting-up part is the whole point and is something to be shared and enjoyed! Lisby made it so.

To my surprise (and Matt’s) we finished decorating the tree.

018I still love the metal washtub, doubling as the tree basin and the big metal star topper, both repeats from last year.

This washtub is from Lowes. I think it cost about $15 and our tree stand fits perfectly inside. I like its rustic and clean look.

017I couldn’t find a topper last year that met my standards. I wanted a big, rustic, metal star. I eventually settled with two wall-mount stars and just stuck em’ together with wire.

006I’d love to hear about your Christmas tree traditions. Got any good tips or DIY projects for your tree this year?

4 thoughts on “O Christmas Tree

  1. Someone at work is making some super cute block letter things. She took a bunch of scrap wood from home depot and cute them into various sizes and painted or stained them and wrote letters or words such as “J-O-Y” or “M-E-R-R-Y CHRISTMAS” When we was showing me the un-finished blocks and explaining it I couldn’t really picture it but they turned out SUPER cute.

    Your tree is also quite stunning and made with wine and love :)

  2. We have a tree topper that is a tradition in our family. Early in our marriage, we didn’t have much to spend on Christmas decorations, but we also didn’t have many decorations. Our first tree was simple and I was trying to come up with a simple topper… long story short, I took a darling little teddy bear who happened to have sparkily paw pads and created a halo out of gold ribbon and wings out of paper doilies and “Twinkle-toes” has topped our tree ever since. Someone has even given me a teddy bear tree topper, but we have stuck with the one we created. Another DIY aspect of our tree is the cinnamon ornaments that I have made with the kids in the past. A very simple dough out of cinnamon and applesauce. They smell wonderful!

  3. I have to admit I am really excited about the whole Christmas tree thing this year, I feel a little like a kid in a candy store! I have been on the road with the Circus for four years, living in hotel rooms and working Christmas day, so this is my first Christmas in my own home! I love your bucket and star idea, really simple and beautiful touches, I shall follow your example (and try very hard not to make a mess that looks like a crafting fairy came in and sicked on my house!
    :-)

Leave a Reply

