Gimme some chocolate!

I have a gift. I hate to brag but I will anyway. I can say a curse word and start crying, at the exact same moment. Then I can continue to string expletives together whilst tears are pouring down my face. It’s true.

I discovered this energy-sucking and totally useless gift on Monday night. Remember the Smitten Kitchen book-signing I was so excited for? Well I showed up and was assaulted by this sign, “We’re sorry for any inconvenience. Tonight’s event has reached capacity.”

I was upset. I went home. I was silent for the whole night. I ate Smitten Kitchen cookies. I didn’t brush my teeth. I furrowed my brow so hard I got a headache.

The end.

On behalf of the woman I wasn’t able to meet…here are the best cookies in the world. Deb’s “Our Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies” recipe she shared from The Great Book of Chocolate. They are really yummy. I’m going to keep this recipe on hand for those times when a chocolate chip cookie is all that soothes your aches…like my Monday night.

Our Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 20 cookies, or more if you use one of those tiny cookie scoops. (Haley’s note: The larger scoop, makes cookies that are soft inside, chewy/crunchy outside – my choice always.)

1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
1/2 cup (120 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) (115 grams) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch (1cm) pieces
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 cups (175 grams) all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups (200 grams) semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup (130 grams) walnuts or pecans, toasted and chopped (totally fine without)

Adjust the oven rack to the top third of the oven and preheat to 300F (150C). Line three baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat the sugars and butters together until smooth. Mix in the egg, vanilla, and baking soda.

Stir together the flour and salt, then mix them into the batter. Mix in the chocolate chips and nuts.

Scoop the cookie dough into 2-tablespoon (5cm) balls and place 8 balls, spaced 4 inches (10cm) apart, on each of the baking sheets.

Bake for 18 minutes, or until pale golden brown. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

Store at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

5 thoughts on “Gimme some chocolate!

  1. Don’t forget Haley Baley, I called you Monday night and made you VERY happy and even made you laugh!! I am sorry though that you weren’t able to get in. That sucks totally!!

Leave a Reply

