Eeekkk!

I. Am. Amped.

There have been several instances in which I’ve referred to Smittenkitchen.com. A cooking site by Deb Perelman that my BF4Eva Julie told me about. The recipes are imaginative, simple, and perfectly suitable for a moderately-abled cook, like myself. Once a week at least, I am making something from her site.

Her pictures and words are gorgeous. She cooks out of her own humble little kitchen and most often provides step by step-ish pictures, which I find really helpful when trying out a new technique.

I knew she had a cookbook coming out, but I figured I would just keep looking up recipes on her site and never have to spend a dime. That is until I realized that she, like a smart business women, only posts a teaser of the recipes provided in the book. Ack! I must have them.

THEN I found this out: She’s doing a book tour. Gasp! I wish I would have had my webcam on when I was realizing this. It would have caught an image of a blank expression…glittering eyes. Then a hushed, “Yes!” whispered to myself. I focused in hard, with furrowed brow and clammy hands. I fumbled around her book tour schedule until I found what I was looking for. “Portland, OR – Powell’s Books on Burnside, November 5th, 7:30pm”. Yes!

Normally, I would go with Julie to this…but she moved 2,696 miles away. So I can’t. I can always make my hubby go with me (make is a strong word as he’d actually find this enjoyable). I strongly encourage any of you Oregon folk to come! I’m going to be making a Smitten Kitchen dinner beforehand, just to add to the festivities. Sigh. I can’t wait.

While I daydream and wait for that day to arrive, I’ll be working on a huge crate full of clothes needing to be mended. Yeah for me.

3 thoughts on “Eeekkk!

  1. I so wish I was in Portland on Nov 5th!!!! You can just get a life size cut out of me and bring it with you to the book signing :)

  2. Pingback: Gimme some chocolate! | Homespun Haley.

Leave a Reply

