Cherry Crumble

Lucky for me, my sis and bro-in-law have a mini-cherry orchard in their backyard. Even luckier still that they take the time to pick a bunch and pass them on to greedy people like me.

Mmmmhmmm…what to do with all of these? I figured this was my opportunity to make something yummy. Like cherry crumble.

After pitting about 2 1/2 cups of cherries, (I had more but got sick of doing this), I tossed the cherries into a sauce pan with about 2 tablespoons of sugar. Cook until the cherries are soft, about 5 minutes.

I then added 1 teaspoon of cornstarch to about 4 tablespoons of water. Add it to the cherry mixture and cook for a couple of minutes, until the mixture thickens.

Throw into a small greased baking pan and add a crumble to the top. I make mine up but here are some you can use. My favorite being the oat crumble topping.

Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes, or until it’s golden brown on top.

And like most things in life, vanilla ice cream makes an amazing addition to this dessert.

Happy baking!

4 thoughts on “Cherry Crumble

Leave a Reply

