Girly Things.

There is nothing I loved more than a cute dress when I was little. Before 3rd grade, which marks the age I dive bombed into tomboyhood, I was a girly girl. I loved purses and frilly things. I wore my mom’s heels around, loved pretending I was a princess and could whisk my hair off my shoulder like a pro. Happily, my niece is starting to develop a lot of the same tendencies. She holds little purses on her wrist, loves nail polish and wearing fun dresses.

So I couldn’t help myself. I had to make her a little dress.

I picked up this pattern (Burda Kids 9494 – style B) at JoAnn’s. It only required 1 yard of fabric but I grabbed 1 & 1/4 yard just to be safe. I have never made kids clothing before, so I was a bit unsure. This pattern was great though. It’s easy to follow and only took a few hours! 

The felt flower is a pin (adding a flower was my husband’s idea). The top is double yoked so the pin doesn’t actually stick through the whole top. And since it’s removable she can use the flower with other outfits.

The zipper installed fine, but the top of the zipper looked a little ragged and I could tell it would be scratchy. So I added some soft felt to finish it.

When asked if she liked the dress, Gianna (19 months old) approved loudly with her classic straight forward, over enunciated response, “Yesss!”.

So here’s to adorable little girls, for giving aunties like me a chance to make pretty things.

One thought on “Girly Things.

Leave a Reply

