Go Bananas

One of my favorite foods ever is warm banana bread with butter. It’s one of those things that I would gladly eat at anytime of time of day, any day. Kinda like Pad Thai and vanilla bean ice cream.

It’s been weird here lately, weather wise. I’ve been confused. Fresh grilled corn with lime tacos or butternut squash soup with rolls? My palate is largely determined by the color of the sky and it’s been gray non-stop. I woke yesterday morning and just thought, “banana bread.” That’s all I want. (And it is all I ate until about 8:30pm – which I wouldn’t suggest.) I would suggest you find a cute Pyrex bread loaf pan to bake your bread in though. It makes it taste all the better.

I a Betty Crocker recipe and add about 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed meal to the flour mixture.

Better Crocker Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a loaf pan. I hate it when banana bread gets tough and dark on the outside, while still being semi-uncooked on the inside. It tastes terrible. I usually fill my 9x5x3-inch pan about half full. I pour the rest of the dough into a muffin tin and bake at the same time for about 20 to 25 minutes.

Mix in a bowl: 2 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, optional: 1 Tablespoon flax seed meal.

Set aside.

Beat in a separate bowl: 1 1/2 cups mashed banana (about 5 medium bananas), 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup cooking oil.

Beat banana mixture into flour mixture. Leave semi-lumpy. You can mix in 1/4 cup walnuts, chocolate chips, etc, at this point.

Pour into your prepared pan and bake for 40 minutes. After about 25 minutes, when I pull out the muffins, I put tin foil loosely on top of the bread, to prevent over browning. Cool on a wire rack.

Yum.

Leave a Reply

