Pineapple Fried Rice

Yummers. I love pineapple fried rice. I thought I would try it out last night along with some teriyaki marinated tofu.

I’ve never made fried rice of any kind, but mine turned out more like sticky rice and I know exactly why. I was impatient and ignored the “cold rice” detail in the recipe. I used jasmine rice straight from the rice cooker and didn’t let it cool. So it was a bit clumpy because of the moisture. BUT that being said, clumpy rice tastes just as good as un-clumpy rice in my opinion. It’s just a different texture.

Now the tofu was not a complete success. The taste was fine, the texture was not. I think next time I’ll let it bake for a much longer period of time, letting the tofu firm up as it baked. More on that some other day.

Overall this rice was delish. The recipe called for 1 tsp of curry, which I added, but next time I’ll skip it. I like the sweetness of the pineapple and the curry just seemed to over power the whole thing. The recipe also said to balance out the curry taste with sugar. So it turned into a curry vs. sugar war and I would prefer not to add any extra sugar to something if it’s not needed. Here’s the adjusted recipe for you:

Pineapple Fried Rice

2 Tbs oil, 1/2 yellow onion, 1 teaspoon minced garlic (1/2 teas powdered), 1 teaspoon minced ginger (1/4 teas powdered), 1 red bell pepper, chopped, 1 can pineapple chunks, drained (or about 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh pineapple), 2 cups cold cooked rice (jasmine or basmati), 2 Tbs soy sauce, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne. Peanuts for garnish if desired.

Using a wok or big frying pan, heat oil. Add onion stirring for a few minutes. Add ginger and garlic, stirring for about a minute. Add pepper and pineapple, saute for about 4 minutes. Add rice, stirring constantly until shiny. Toss in soy sauce and cayenne. Cook for a few minutes more, then garnish and serve!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pineapple Fried Rice

  1. This looks delicious!!! My hubs isn’t eating rice, so I might be able to use lentils instead! Yum!!! And I’m excited to read more about your marinated tofu! :)

  2. funny- I just had pineapple fired rice last night- but mine was take-out from “Thai Awseome” a Thai restaurant here with an incredibly unique name :)

  3. I made fried rice recently and was kinda stumped by the whole cold (and old apparently) rice thing. Googling it helped, I took the new rice, spread it on a cookie sheet and stuck it in the freezer for a while. Totally worked!

Leave a Reply

