Pinecocoban Popsicles (pineapple, coconut and banana)

These popsicles are simple and quite yummy. 1 can coconut milk, 1 can pineapple (+ juice), 2 bananas, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Blend it up, pour it in a mold, pop in a stick, freeze it, eat it.

After using my old yogurt containers, I realized that the shape was not conducive to eating very easily. Ha.

So I happened to be in the dollar tree yesterday and found one. I grabbed it and the cashier struck up a conversation about popsicles. The conversation went like this:

Cashier: “Oh, it’s popsicle time for sure!”

Me: “Yup.”

C: “So these are for the kiddos right?”

M: “Well, no. There for me.”

C: Dumbfounded look…”But they are so small.”

M: Confused by her confusion, “I’ll eat two.”

C: “Okay you must not have seen our other popsicles. Let me show you.”

At this point she walks away from the counter with all my stuff on it and a line of people waiting to check out.

C: “Come ‘ere!”

M: “Uurrrr…okay.”

C: “Okay see these. This is what you want. You get 6 pops, same as your mold. But they are a little bigger, and you don’t have to make anything.”

She holds up a box of generic brand sour-gummy popsicles (neon green again…the color that should give you a hint that it’s probably not a good addition to your diet.)

M: (lying to be nice) “Oh yeah…those do look good. Wow…I wonder what’s in these?”

Flip box over.

M: Under my breath: “Oh wow…150 calories per pop, 34 grams of sugar” (that’s basically a can of coke per popsicle)

C: “Mhhmm.”

M: I read silently the ingredient list: Water, high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, sugar, orange juice (from concentrate), contains 1 percent or less of each of the following: malic acid, citric acid, guar gum, natural flavor, locust bean gum, annatto (for color).

The cashier must have been reading it over my shoulder as well because suddenly she says:

C: “Locust bean gum?”

M: “You know, I think I’ll just stick with what I’ve got. I’ve already got the ingredients at home.”

C: “Yeah…what the hell is loctus bean gum?”

M: “I dunno…”

C: “I’m Lydia by the way…what do you put in your popsicles?”

:)

7 thoughts on “Pinecocoban Popsicles (pineapple, coconut and banana)

  1. i wish i was there for that conversation! hilarious! and way to NOT get the locust shit, stick with coconut milk and pineapple

  2. The interesting thing about these is they essentially don’t melt. My kids left one on the table. When I found it it wasn’t a puddle, more like pudding. It was in a flat cube shape, because I used an ice cube tray as a mold. I have some long thin cube trays for water bottle ice. Those were preferred to the traditional cube. I was also able to find vanilla coconut milk, so one less ingredient. Thanks for the recipe.

    • That is so interesting…I didn’t even think about that, but it makes sense. Mmmhhmmm vanilla coconut milk, I must try! Thanks for taking the time to comment Erin.

Leave a Reply

