Soothing Smoothie

It was hot here for a total of two days. In which, I think people in the Portland metro area, including myself, went outside WAY too much. We got our hopes up. We pretended it was summer. Now it’s back to the same old, same old. Gray and rainy. Ugh. But in those two days my appetite changed completely. Suddenly I’m craving fresh corn salsa, zesty lime tacos, lemonade, grilled veggies, watermelon, popsicles and anything with berries.

But I’m not going to wait around for the weather to reflect my dietary desires. Spring time usually commences the beginning of my smoothie making. Once a day I have a massive, delicious smoothie. It dies down during the winter because I’m craving something warm and pumpkiny by then, but I’m starting my smoothie ritual now regardless of the cold.

Besides sharing with you some smoothie deliciousness, I’ll share some kitchen wisdom that I dawned from pinterest (this would be a Pinterest Win). Did you know that a standard quart sized mason jar fits perfectly in most blenders? This way, you can blend your smoothie and then enjoy it right from the jar. Just don’t blend up anything hot…the air has nowhere to escape.

*If you don’t do dairy for whatever reason, omit yogurt and add some juice. I like using Odwalla, but any juice would do. I’ve even used almond milk before and it was great! The best part about yogurt is the texture, hence why I prefer a thicker substitute, like Odwalla.

Haley’s Soothing Smoothie Recipe

1 banana, 1 container yogurt (raspberry, plain, greek, whatever is your favorite!), 1 Tbs Flaxseed Meal (optional, I use Bob’s Red Mill brand), 1 cup frozen blueberries,1 cup frozen raspberries, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup broccoli crowns, 1/3 cup chopped carrot.

Blend banana, yogurt and flaxseed well. Then add carrots and broccoli, blend well. Add the berries and blend again.

The key to this smoothies success is thefrozen berries and the abundance of blending. Nothing ruins a smoothie for me more than a sudden crunchy frozen berry in my mouth. If you’re nervous about adding the veggies, I would encourage you to add the berries first, taste it, and then add veggies slowly, tasting along the way. Broccoli actually adds a very mild nutty flavor to your smoothie, almost unnoticeable! The carrot flavor is mild as well, mostly masked by all the berries. Plus it’s a smart and yummy way to add more veggies to your menu for the day.

Imagine drinking this sitting on your porch with a warm breeze and a good book. I can’t wait for real summer. Happy Blending!

6 thoughts on “Soothing Smoothie

  1. Such a good idea to add veggies! Have you ever used tofu in smoothies? I just discovered that is a common use of the soft kind…and I know you are a tofu girl. They say it makes for a very thick and creamy texture.

  2. Pingback: Summer Foods Week: Pico De Haley | Homespun Haley.

Leave a Reply

