Teriyaki Tastiness

So you know how I made peanut sauce the other day? Well we ran out of it in like 3 days because I put it on everything. So I said to my hubby, “Well, I better make some more.” He responded hesitantly, “Oh…yeah…cause you can just make some more…real easy, huh?”. This seemed like a strange way to respond. I mean, he just heard that I would be making more liquid gold for him to eat, and he wasn’t looking excited.

In the next few minutes we deduced that not everyone has peanut sauce running through their veins like I do. We agreed it was delicious. “Just not for breakfast” according to Matt. Weirdo.

He made a fleeting comment the night previously, about the same dish being good with teriyaki sauce. I thought about that and realized I had ever made teriyaki sauce. Having been a vegetarian for over two years now, teriyaki always seemed synonymous with chicken, so we never ate it. But heck! Matt was right. I thought I would track down a recipe.

And just like the peanut sauce…it was perfection. Sweet, thick, quick and fool-proof. I added more honey and less brown sugar. I also didn’t have garlic powder for some reason. So obviously I skipped that and I added like 1/4 cup pineapple juice, which tasted great!

“Restaurant” Teriyaki Sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 cup water

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

4-5 tablespoons packed brown sugar

1-2 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/4 cup cold water

Directions:

  1. Mix all but last two ingredients (cornstarch and 1/4c water) in a sauce pan and begin heating.
  2. Mix cornstarch and cold water in a cup and dissolve. Add to sauce in pan.
  3. Heat until sauce thickens to desired thickness.
  4. Add water (or pineapple juice) to thin if you over-thick it

For those of you who missed the peanut sauce post, I added steamed veggies and fried tofu to a rice or noodle base. I did the same here. This recipe makes enough for about three meals. If you’re feeding 4 I would double it just in case. I also don’t know how it saves but I assume it would be fine in the fridge for a little while.

If you give it a try, let me know how it turns out!

6 thoughts on “Teriyaki Tastiness

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Fried Rice | Homespun Haley.

Leave a Reply

