To plant or not to plant? There is no question.

I miss this.

Planting starts, watching them grow.

Caring for them and carefully observing their progress. Sinking my hands into the warm, fresh dirt.

I miss watering in the early morning. The smell of damp soil, cilantro’s perfume carried on the air.

I miss picking cherry tomatoes in the heat of the day. Popping a couple in my mouth as I weeded and made traps for slugs.

Watching intently for the potatoes to sprout…anxious to pile more dirt on top. Analyzing the sun’s path throughout the sky, will we get full sun today?

I miss the smell of tomato leaves on my hands. And crisp lettuce, the taste to good for words.

Herbs, onions, garlic, cucumbers, peas, carrots, peppers, broccoli…

I miss the satisfying feeling of growing my own food. Just beyond my doorstep, dinner awaits.

I felt connected to my Creator in a new way.

Sigh. I’m praying for April to come soon.

2 thoughts on “To plant or not to plant? There is no question.

Leave a Reply

