New Pyrex + Fav Taco Ingredients = Enchiladas!

I like to use my Pyrex. I feel like I’m completing its life cycle or something. Especially if it looks as if it has never been used. It was made to be used. In case anyone is interested, the pattern below is called “Royal Wheat”.

So…since I always have on hand my fav ingredients for tacos…a staple meal at the Krueger Household…I decided…what the hay…enchiladas baby. One reason I love baked dishes like enchiladas and casseroles is they usually save well and are easy to portion. Remember, I’m in portion control mode right now and this meal is so filling it’s easy to eat without feeling ripped off.

Enchiladas

About 5 cups Mexican Rice (1 box)…the best I’ve ever found…wait for it…Rice-a-Roni. I know, but trust me…it’s delish.

1 can black beans

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, pressed

1 red pepper, chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

2 cups salsa.

7ish flour tortillas.

1/2 cup shredded cheese.

Heat oven to 350 degrees. I simply saute the onion for bit in veg oil and add the peppers and garlic. Saute for about 8 min, until peppers are soft. Cook rice according to directions. Heat black beans on the stove. I usually slightly mash ours.  Spread some salsa on the bottom of your backing dish. Create “burritos” with flour tortillas by adding a little bit of the beans, pepper mixture and rice. Wrap em’ up and pop em’ into the dish. Do this repeatedly until it’s filled. I did two layers. Add any remaining salsa to the top and sprinkle with cheese. I wouldn’t add cheese to this dish at all if it weren’t for my cheese-loving husband. But hey, it’s an easy compromise. Pop in the oven for about 20 min, until the cheese is melted and the sauce is bubbling. I covered loosely with foil for about 15 min and took the foil off and cooked for another 5 to 10 min.

I love to add fresh cut tomatoes and sour cream to mine…yum!

 

Leave a Reply

