Giving Thanks.

Thanksgiving to some extent, is synonymous with family (+ food). For some this can be joyful and still for others painful. Most people yesterday spent time with family. Family being the people in your life who journey with you throughout it. Not limited by a number. Not limited to (and sometimes excluding) ties through marriage and genes. Others may have spent time alone yesterday. Held back from family by distance literal and/or figurative. I was fortunate enough to spend time with some of my family. Those I did not get to see, were on my heart and mind.

As you grow older you become a participant in family in a way that’s new. You have choices to make. You can choose to journey with people or not, to engage or disengage. To laugh with the crazy kiddos and care for those who are sick. Family is not perfect because people are not perfect. My family is perfectly not perfect. People brimming with stories of humor and pain. People who are vulnerable and honest. Life is vibrant and togetherness apparent.

I am so proud of my family. My family is made up of all sorts of relationships, from Grandparents to close friends. These people shape my life. We’re not the same. I am not a clone of the generation before me, yet I am influenced and inspired by them. These people consciously, journey together. Creating a web of support & giving me comfort.

I want to be identified with my family. It’s a part of who I am and who I will be. I want to be a part of something connected. To feel I belong to something in this huge world. I give thanks today for family. I give thanks to God for surrounding me with eccentric delicate, hilarious, helpful, tired and gifted people. In all of them I find connection and meaning, to all of them I am dedicated.

“Rejoice with your family in the beautiful land of life” – Albert Einstein

One thought on “Giving Thanks.

  1. I’m going to be devastated (while also excited because of the circumstances) when I no longer get to be a Kluver. I was just thinking about this last night how much I appreciate being a Kluver. I love how much of a Kluver I am and how much various Kluvers have made me who I am and who I will continue to grow to be.

    MMMM…foood. Love thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

