Homemade popcorn – ditch the store bought crap!

This was an idea I saw on Pinterest (best website ever…if you need an invite, let me know)…which I had to try. You can buy bulk organic popcorn for about $1.00 a pound. About 1/3 cup popcorn will fill an entire brown lunch sack once popped! Enough to serve two people (or one Julie Hale; popcorn lover). Simply add your fav seasoning…and delishness abounds. It’s much healthier this way too. You’ll note that there is no grease whatsoever after you’ve nuked the kernels. Plain popcorn is also a great dog treat! Cheap and low-cal. My chickens like it too…but I digress.

Try it out, and promise me you’ll stop buying the store crap.

Step one. 1/4 to 1/3 cup Popcorn into a paper “lunch” sack. (In this pic I used 1/2 cup…WAY too much.)

Step two. Fold bag over a couple times. (Don’t staple…metal and microwaves don’t mix).

Step three. Microwave for about 1 to 2 min. Each microwave is different. Listen for pops to slow down or for the bag to get really full…Stop if you smell burning and note the time.

Step four. Pour into a bowl and add seasoning! My fav is just a bit of melted butter and a pinch of salt. But there are a ton of ways to add flavor. I found some good ones here: http://tipnut.com/quick-tip-10-popcorn-seasoning-ideas/

4 thoughts on “Homemade popcorn – ditch the store bought crap!

  1. Popcorn is by far the most amazing thing in the entire world (that and Tyler) – Store microwave popcorn is so expensive and bulk popcorn is soooo cheap! Love this idea- i will try it because then I make it over the stove i use oil so this would be a little more healthy.

  2. Now, I feel like an idiot. I’ve always wondered how to make the homemade goods in the microwave (I’ve always used a popper or a pan), but it NEVER dawned on me to use a paper bag. Thank you for the enlightenment!

Leave a Reply

